How safe is toolbox set-read-only true?


#1

Hi

Is it safe to use toolbox set-read-only true during an upgrade? Like running with read-only during the weekend to prevent anyone from changing data in case we need to do a rollback? What happens with snapshots taken during read-only?

Is this the purpose for the feature or is there some other usefull usecases?

And how does this work in a cluster? Does it have to be set on all nodes?


#2

Hi Tommy.

The read-only sets the underlying index in read-only mode, so its guaranteed that no changes will be written to storage.
The setting is cluster-wide, so the whole cluster will be in read only mode.

Snapshots will run as normal, but wont be very useful :slight_smile:


#3

This topic was automatically closed after 2 days. New replies are no longer allowed.