Section Tags in Text Component

Hi everyone,
I’m new to enonic, so far I like a lot what I see!

I have run into a problem with the markup, would be great if someone can help me on this:

The Html-Template that I’m implementing heavily relies on <section> tags.
The Out-Of-The-Box Text Component also always adds <section> tags to the page, but they do not match the html structure I need.

Is there a way to remove these auto-generated <section> tags in the text component?

It would be ok if they are rendered in the content editor as the editing functionality seems to rely on it (which I btw think is not a good idea, but probably cannot be changed so quickly).

thanks for any hints,
Ben

Hi!

We considered an option to allow the user to choose the root element of each text component, but it’s still in the back-log. I guess you should be able to replace this element with something else yourself by processing the output. Maybe someone can come up with a piece of code to do this?

Just for curiosity: What do you want to replace it with?

Also, remember that you need to preserve the: data-portal-component-type=“part” attribute in order for the page editor mode to work properly.

thanks for the quick reply!

I’m not sure how I can process the output of the text component, can you maybe give me a hint where to start?
I did check with the repo explorer, in the repo the tag is not stored, so I cannot remove it in my controller, can I?
“TextComponent”: {
“name”: “Text”,
“text”: “<h1>Dies ist die erste Section</h1>”
}

Some more background on what I’m doing: I have a region, where authors can add components. Each of these components should be displayed with a given html (that includes a section tag).
This is my code (${removeEditMode} is “tag” in editing mode and “none” otherwise, rendering these tags in edit mode breaks the authoring functionality):
<div data-portal-region=“content”>
<div data-th-if="${contentRegion}" data-th-each=“component : ${contentRegion.components}”