First attempt at using enonic - need some handholding please!

So a little background.

Back in the late 1990’s I ran a software development company, and I wrote a number of CMS platforms. I now work as a paralegal and as a freelance journalist.

We have been running our news publications hosted on a variety of wordpress platforms, and given that our journalistic “output” is rather “hot” to borrow a word from a certain climate change championing teenager, we have been the subject of a number of hacking attempts, which have taken down our news platforms repeatedly.

So, having had our news sites down for 8 weeks straight (thanks to being hacked by 3 different countries in a row - thanks guys - we love the fact that you love you … really we do). I decided that I had to bite the bullet and actually go and set up a proper, secure, well designed CMS, rather than resorting to a pile of excrement.

The purpose here is to set up (reasonably quickly) a blogging platform on a decent secure platform, find a way to import the thousands of articles we have already written, publish it, and then modify the platform as we go.

So the steps to date

1. I have installed enonic on one of our hosted servers in Germany. The machine does not have a domain name, only an IP address.

2. I installed the “superhero” application (actually, I installed lots of applications to play around) … but let’s start with that one.

3. I duplicated the superhero application, and amended it.

4. I now have a project space called news-cyprus.com (yep, I know, we’re offline …)

5. I have a blog based on superhero in news-cyprus.com called news-cyprus.

6. I have changed the su password and begun setting up some new users etc.

Now I notice that superhero will continue to reinstall itself…

So a few quick questions

1. What is the public url ?
  2. What is the easiest way of amending the templates?

Enonic version: 7.5.0

Hi Tom, thanks for reaching out!